Alabama running back Derrick Henry won the 81st annual Heisman Trophy Saturday evening after having a remarkable 2015 season. Henry rushed for 1,986 yards and 23 touchdowns breaking Herschel Walkers' single-season SEC rushing record.

Henry was the clear frontrunner going into the ceremony Saturday evening, and after winning the Maxwell Award for being the college football play of the year, it seemed almost inevitable the Crimson Tide running back would win the most coveted award in college football.

Henry finished with 378 first place votes for the award. Stanford running back Christian McCaffrey finshed with 290, according to ESPN's Joe Schad.

Henry scored 42 percent of Alabama's touchdowns this year, and would only get stronger as games went on. The 6-foot-3, 242-pound running back tied Tim Tebow's single-season rushing touchdown record, and was arguably the most dynamic player in all of college football.

Alabama head coach Nick Saban continued to praise Henry's hard work at the ceremony, and knows how important his star running back is to his chance at a National Championship. Henry won the SEC Offensive Player of the Year, and led his team to an SEC title as well as a spot in the College Football Playoff.

Henry is the first running back to win the Heisman since Alabama running back Mark Ingram Jr. The Alabama running back had 1,832 points followed by McCaffrey with 1,539 points. Clemson quarterback Deshaun Watson finished in third place with 1,165 points.