For those who enjoy a dairy-free diet, Ben & Jerry's will soon come out with a vegan version of its famous ice cream.

"I think that's a big thing for Ben & Jerry's to be doing that," said company co-founder, Jerry Greenfield, to Metro UK. "In the U.S., there are [dairy-free] alternatives from smaller companies, but Ben & Jerry's will be first mainstream company that will do that and will also do it in a really delicious way."

"Our Flavor Gurus are always in the lab looking at ways we can bring the fun and indulgence of Ben & Jerry's to new fans," said the company's spokesperson, Kelly Morh, according to Huffington Post. "A nondairy dessert is something we are working on because everyone has the right to enjoy great dessert."

In making the vegan ice cream, Ben & Jerry's is reportedly going to use almond milk or coconut milk as its base.

The push comes from a petition lodged back in October 2014 that called for the ice cream maker to provide nondairy options for its customers. There are currently more than 27,000 supporters of the petition on Charge.Org.

However, American vegans will have to wait until spring 2016 to sample Ben & Jerry's dairy-free ice cream, while those in the United Kingdom will have to wait longer.

Meanwhile, Ben & Jerry's has been exploring other options to attract a growing market. Back in March, the company was said to be considering a cannabis-infused ice cream after co-founder Ben Cohen said that the idea "makes sense to me—combine our pleasures," according to CNBC.

But while Greenfield was also enthusiastic about it, he said the decision doesn't rely on just the two of them. "Fortunately, we have wiser heads at the company that figure those things out," he said in the CNBC report.